Jake’s Blog 1 Post (READ 200.12)

“When I was young, the biggest most supportive people are my parents. My mom and dad were born in the Philippines and I was born here. They’ve made a big positive influence because without my parents I wouldn’t be the person I am today. Both my parents started to show me what is wrong from what is right. They have always told me that no matter what happens in life never let it hold you down because it will only become worse. My parents always pushed me harder to become a better and more successful person. In addition, my father was a mechanic and it brought the car enthusiast in me. My father would bring in a car into our garage to have it fixed up. As time came along I started to become more and more intelligent about cars and since my father’s favorite hobby is fixing cars it gave me the motivation to become just like my father in the near future. My mother on the other hand is a full-time pre-school teacher. My mom and I weren’t very close to each other at the time because she would always come home late from work then leave early in the morning which makes it difficult for myself and for my mother because we hardly see each other. When my father and mother divorced it was difficult for me and my younger brothers because we didn’t have a father figure to look up to but as an older sibling I feel that those who have been through these situations has felt more pain than I have. I feel that my parents and other parents out there is a great positive influence towards life because your parents will always be there for you no matter what happens. They will always push you harder until they/I have reached my goal. Another big positive influence in my life is my younger brothers. Since I am the oldest one in my family and it is difficult to try my best to be the best role model I can be to my younger brothers.”

– Jake  Catura 

Leave a comment