Ashley’s blog 1

“As we grow older we have many people who influence us to like and/or do certain things. In the story  “Superman and Me” by: Sherman Alexie talks about his father who inspired him to love something so much. He was planning on becoming a pediatrician instead he became a writer. I life we get influenced by family or friends. When I was younger I had dreamed to become a doctor but as I grew older I lost the interest. I would sit in my room and watch cartoons, sometimes there would be some episodes of doctors. I then would ask myself, “why do I want to be a doctor?” I grew out of it but ended up confused on what I wanted to become. My grandmother has had a daycare for nearly 15 years, after school I would always spend my afternoons with the others kids. I enjoyed with kids playing, talking and helping them with homework. I wanted to work with kids but didn’t know what specifically. One day I was visiting my grandmother in the evening and happened to noticed there was a little boy in my grandmothers house at 7:00 PM, but there was also a lady who was talking to my grandma. As I was trying to figure out what was happening I heard the lady say she was going to take the boy but he was crying, it didn’t seem normal to me. I then found  out the reason why he was there so late, his parents were arrested for drugs. It broke my heart to see a little boy crying because he was so confused, but my grandmother inspired me. She pulled the social worker aside and spoke to her if it would be fine if she takes care of the child for a few days until he could go with a family relative, the social worker agreed and let him stay a few days. My grandmother that night made sure he had everything he needs, she had given him attention and comfort. My grandma has such a beautiful,caring heart. I was so influenced that I wanted to be just like my grandma. I finally found out what I wanted to do in life, I wanted to become a child psychologist. After seeing the little boy crying I just wanted to help every child who may experience the same thing. Children shouldn’t be put in situations like that without support. I wanted to make a difference and I will, children should be given love, attention, and comfort. I have chosen a career in which I may help many children and I thank my grandmother for influencing me to be a kind person with their arms and doors wide open for those who suffer.”

– Ashley Gonzalez

Leave a comment